Ogun 2019: Akinlade’s loyalists dump PDP for APC | Vanguardngr 

The ranks of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Ogun State swelled on Thursday following the defection of over 200 members of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Ipokia local govt.

The defectors, who are core supporters of the former member of the House of Representatives from the area, Hon. Abiodun Isiaq Akinlade, were received into the APC by the state executive of the party in a ceremony filled with fanfare and excitement.

Akinlade, who is a 2019 governorship hopeful from Ogun West zone is still a member of the PDP. However, his recent political dalliance with the state governor, Senator Ibikunle Amosun and the APC in the state, has initiated rumours of his imminent move to the ruling party.

The defectors

Led by a notable grassroots assembler from the local government, Alhaji Saliu Falade, the defectors pledged their unalloyed support to the party under the leadership of the state governor, Senator Ibikunle Amosun.

Receiving the defectors at the colourful ceremony, the Acting Chairman of APC in the state, Alhaji Tajudeen Lemboye, commended the bold decision of the defectors to dump the ‘sinking ship’ of the PDP for the APC, adding that their movement is a notable addition for the ruling party.

While noting that APC in the state is an organised, disciplined party, he added that the party will give equal opportunity to all.

Speaking on behalf of the defectors, Falade said they decided to move en masse to APC because of the crisis rocking the PDP at both state and national levels.

“We are joining the APC in order to contribute our quota to the development of our local and state governments. The PDP is divided and scattered. Our movement to APC is to add value to the party,” he said.

Other members of the state executive present at the ceremony held in Ipokia include the General Secretary, Toyin Adebusiwa; State Auditor, Michael Adeleke; and the state Treasurer, Wale Adesiji, among others.

Other dignitaries at the event are APC leaders in the local government including Alhaji Dele Rufai, Alhaji Bashir Sodiq, Hon. Segun Bamiwola, all Ipokia LG exco’s, among others.

Source – vanguardngr.com


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s